What Is A Good Story by Whitney Hancock

As discussed in class last week, until our reading I had never given this question much thought. A story was just a story, I didn’t think much about the pieces that needed to be in place to make it a story. I do agree that while not everything is a story, anything can be a story if the right elements and detail are there.

The five elements we discussed: character, intent, action, struggle, and detail are usually present in the best, and even the worst stories. While they do hold value in storytelling, there are two that I find most important to invest myself into a story. Character and detail. I must be able to make a connection to the character in some form to want to continue reading their story. I am able to do so by the amount of detail provided about the character. I will use Harry Potter as my example because it has been my example in class so far. While I wasn’t an orphan, I didn’t live under a staircase and I definitely did not possess magical powers I was able to relate to Harry Potter not feeling like he belonged. I began reading the series in seventh grade. I was a quiet student who mainly kept to myself and struggled making new friends. Harry’s quest to find a place he belonged and friends to connect with helped me relate to the character and invest myself in the story. J.K. Rowling did a wonderful job capturing the characters in her story, their intent, the action, struggles and most importantly the detail of every element.

A story must include these five elements to some extent to become a story worth reading. The story teller needs to be able to create details that draw the audience in and form a connection with them. Details create imagery and emotional connection. Capturing the character, emotions, setting, smells, sound and any other detail you can to create an image in the readers mind is important in storytelling and to me as a reader. These 5 elements help separate a good story from a story falling flat or simply being a statement.

One thought on “What Is A Good Story by Whitney Hancock

  1. meaganmthornton January 19, 2015 / 8:14 am

    Whitney, I really Like how you discussed about how good of a job J.K. Rowling did with the character development because I find that one of the most important things in a story which many other people do also. Especially in Harry Potter because Rowling showed different ways on how Harry, Ron, Hermoine, Neville, Malfoy, and Dumblebore and how they reacted in certain situations when they get older and face different type of quest.

    Like

Leave a Reply

