What is a Story? Adam Namba

When the question what is a story is asked to me, I think of a fiction or non-fiction plot with a beginning, middle and a end.  Then I would start to actually think more about that question and I start to think that a story needs main characters, role characters and small characters that have a big role in a small part.  When I think of stories I would think of films, books, and short stories such as: Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, To Kill a Mockingbird, and The Grapes of Wrath.  I also think a story is a account of imaginary or real people in the account of entertainment.  A story also needs to be entertaining and keeping people focused and trying to keep them guessing about what will happen next.  That is why I like Quentin Tarantino movies because he always keeps me entertained by having interesting characters, plots, score, and lines.

My favorite story is probably Lord of The Rings because I love stories that are fiction and have a lot different main characters and action in it.  I love how J.R.R Tolken made a complete different world and different languages to make an incredible story.  Another reason why Lord of The Rings is my favorite story because how he has different type of characters and shows the difference between all of those people.  In the series, Tolken has a the roller coaster effect that at one point in the book everything will be grand and then they would have to fight off orcs and one of the main characters dies and brings down the mood.  I especially like the ending because I love stories that are predictable but in a different way you think it will end.  In the end of the last book of the series, Frodo was about to drop the ring into the fire of Mount Doom but he turns around to Samwise and tells him that the ring is his and puts the ring on his finger and starts to walk off until Gollum ripped it off his finger and finally got the thing he wanted the most.  Then Frodo pushes Gollum into the lava and was trying to hold onto it until he died.  I love to see character development in stories like this because I want to see what one little thing can change a person.  This is why the Lord of The Rings series is my favorite story.

One thought on “What is a Story? Adam Namba

  1. meaganmthornton January 25, 2015 / 2:01 am

    Spoiler alert on Lord of the Rings… just kidding. This is a great story and great example. -Meagan

    Like

Leave a Reply

