Does technology make us better storytellers? Breanna Larson

This question has definitely been knocking at my brain all day because it seems that the answer could be impossible to reach and that drives me a little insane.  There are ways in which technology could be making us better storytellers, and there are ways in which is might actually be limiting us, or at least not advancing us.  I will try and express my thoughts on the question to the best of my ability.

Ways technology does NOT make us better storytellers:

I was thinking about some of the things said in class, and some of the things I wrote about in my daily class journal, and it’s possible that our storytelling hasn’t really changed, it has just taken on new platforms.  A story once told orally is still pretty much the same, it has just moved from being told from speaking, to being told in writing, and then being told on blogs like this one and various other mediums.  I thought it was interesting that the word “recycling” was used in class.  Our stories may not actually be changing, they are just being recycled.  I also have been thinking that just because more people can read or hear about stories, doesn’t mean the stories are better.  It just means that we have access to more of them.

This kind of leads me into my next section about ways technology DOES make us better storytellers:

If we have access to more stories, does that mean that by hearing more stories and reading more stories that we are thus more able to construct good stories of our own?  I think that this is very likely.  I also think that because of the new technologies that we are learning to adjust our storytelling to the new mediums and we may be making our stories better as a result.  There’s also the fact that the internet allows us to not just know about people in our area, but about people all over the world, which makes story ideas basically endless because there is so much information at our fingertips that inspiration isn’t hard to come by.

I still think that the answer to this question can swing in favor of either side, depending on how you look at it.  All that can really be done is theorizing, and theories are often times unable to be proven.

One thought on “Does technology make us better storytellers? Breanna Larson

  1. meaganmthornton January 25, 2015 / 4:10 am

    I agree with you on the idea that exposure to more stories and creativity in general makes us better storytellers. Technology has given us that exposure. – Meagan

    Like

Leave a Reply

