Is Technology Making Us Better Storytellers? Sam Watson

Is technology making us better storytellers? The answer is very subjective depending on who you ask, but I believe that in short, yes. Technology is making us better storytellers. This is due to the rapid exchange of ideas that we are now capable of. With the advent of the internet and email, people are able to correspond with each other from one side of the world to the other almost instantaneously. Feedback and criticism can be received from countless sources quickly. As a writer, I value criticism and critiquing as the biggest way to improve my writing. An idea might seem clear and concise in my head, but it might not to someone else. Being able to get feedback in a fast manner is an indispensable tool in order to improve my writing.

An interesting point was brought up during class, and that is that certain types of technology can hurt rather than help our mental capacities. The argument was this: we are rarely as bored as we used to be before certain types of technology arose. Now, instead of using our free time to hone talents or formulate ideas, we spend them idling on Facebook or Instagram. I think this is true to a certain extent, but it also depends on the person. I am guilty of spending time flipping through Instagram (I do not have a Facebook page), but I also use my free time to learn via my computer. Not to put myself up on a high horse or anything, but most of my computer time is spent learning about photography, nature, and the news. I think that it is highly subjective. If you are a curious and interested person to begin with, your technology will help you to learn and formulate new ideas through its many connections to the world. On the other side of the coin, if you are already an inherently lazy person, technology will only channel your mental inactivity.

3 thoughts on “Is Technology Making Us Better Storytellers? Sam Watson

  1. meaganmthornton January 22, 2015 / 1:36 am

    Sam, I do agree with your point about how technology is a great tool to help you with your writing by having people to be able to critique your work. Also, technology can be a horrible thing because when you are bored you just sit on your phone and look at your apps the whole time and not spend your time hanging and talking with friends and family. Like you said it how are society acts not.

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton January 22, 2015 / 3:58 am

    Hey! I don’t have a facebook account either, high five! I think you bring up a good point when you say the question of whether digital technology makes us better storytellers is “subjective.” I just didn’t realize how subjective until you pointed out you use technology to learn and become more creative rather than just as a mind sucking cure for boredom. Like you say, technology can be great, it just depends on the person using it. – Steph Hunter

    Like

  3. meaganmthornton January 25, 2015 / 2:37 am

    I also agree with the discussion on technology as a distractor and the subjectivity of this statement. Yes, Sam the internet and technology enables us to learn and expand our minds in incredible ways. I think the main point here is that there is value to letting our minds explore without technology- on their own, in the void of boredom. -Meagan

    Like

Leave a Reply

