Digital Usage- Sam Watson

Sam Watson

1/25/15 – Ethos Tracing

  1. Media that I use

Gmail

Canvas

Instagram

Google

NOAA

Utah Avalanche Center

Youtube

Amazon

Phone (music, text, call)

Radiolab

Alta Ski Area.com

Powder.com

Flikr

The Onion

BBC

  1. Frequency

I chose to monitor the frequency of my media on January 25th, 2015. Starting in the morning, I checked my Instagram account during breakfast at 7:00 am. I checked the weather as well for the day. At 7:45, I drove in my car and listened to music via my phone on my way up to Alta to ski for the day. I continued to listen to music on my phone throughout the ski day. I made three calls throughout the day on my phone to friends to meet up and ski. Returning home, I listened to a Radiolab podcast about the inner workings of the human digestive tract. Upon arriving home, I checked my gmail account once, and my canvas account once. I used Pages for word processing on my computer to begin writing a response for another class. I checked my Instagram account again before going to bed.

On a weekly basis, my media frequency does not differ a whole lot from the day outlined above. On days that I have more homework to do, I will access canvas more, as well as word processing. I don’t surf the web too frequently, and don’t have a Facebook page. I edit and process photographs on my computer frequently using Adobe Lightroom. Part of the time, my photo editing is for my own photos, and the rest of the time it is during an internship that I am currently doing. I do blog writing and other photo workflow processes during my internship as well. The rest of my media consumption is not regular, except the weather and news, and listening to music on my phone.

One thought on “Digital Usage- Sam Watson

  1. meaganmthornton January 26, 2015 / 8:25 pm

    It’s pretty cool that you can gather a lot of information about a person just based on their digital usage. You can see their interests, beliefs, and a lot about how they live their life just based on where they spend their time digitally.

    Like

Leave a Reply

