Opinions Are Like Fonts – Blog Post 3 Amber Sandberg

The great thing about school is the acquisition of opinions. And as you acquire more and more of these opinions, the heated ones have a tendency to float to the top. In this particular stage of my life, I have three fierce and firey ones atop my opinion cocktail: gluten (love it!), computers (the only way to write!), and fonts (judge books and people by ‘em!)

My love for gluten has no relation to digital storytelling, at least right now, so I’ll move on to my preferred platform for sentence composition, the computer. During the writing exercise this week we were asked to write with multiple platforms. First, I was assigned the computer, and did a happy dance as I snaked a sideways glance at those stuck on paper and phone. Just when I was about to get comfy, Meagan switched us all to a new platform and I was sentenced to paper.

Paper! Oh the horror.

Nothing stumps me more than paper. I have this condition called acute paper-writing-induced-hand-ache. I don’t do the pen and paper thing much any more, which means the hands are out of shape. So when old-fashioned writing is required, I get the acute paper-writing-induced-hand-ache. It’s important to note that while doing the paper method of writing, I did another happy dance because I wasn’t stuck on my phone. Because, well, the phone? It’s great for notes, but actual writing? Not sure. Perhaps I should try it before acquiring this opinion.

This writing platform exercise was great for me. I knew that I preferred the computer to other forms of creation, but I had no idea that it was the happy-dance type of preferred. Paper feels so permanent, and sloppy, and exposed. Computers, on the other hand, feel temporary, and adjustable and private. That is, as long as you’re the only one with the password.

Now let’s move on to fonts. Fonts are everywhere. There are thousands, maybe millions – who knows. Perhaps there should be some sort of registration office for fonts so that we can keep track of them all – assign a social security number and have them pay taxes. My opinionated mind says 80% of those fonts are garbage.

While reading “Design Principles” by Robin Williams, I was reminded of the inflexible and rigid platitude for all things font. While Williams’ design segments were informative, easy to read, and provided many ways for us non-designers to improve, there was this “font” thing about it, meaning she used that one font, Comic Sans.

Nothing, aside from the chalkboard scratch, prickles my neck hair more than the Comic Sans. Not only should that font pay taxes, its existence is felonious. It should go to jail.

For the record, if you like Comic Sans, I can still like you. I just will ask that you send your manuscripts in Kindle format so that I can have control over the font.

4 thoughts on “Opinions Are Like Fonts – Blog Post 3 Amber Sandberg

  1. meaganmthornton January 30, 2015 / 1:10 am

    I find this so interesting because I am the exact opposite when it comes to my “happy dance” medium. I love to write on paper first, on paper I feel like I can let all my thoughts and my best creative ideas come out. When I’m writing on the computer I get hung up on sentence structure and grammar because I feel like typing on a screen means editing, funny how different people can be.

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton February 8, 2015 / 11:13 pm

    Amber- you have such a vibrant voice when you write. I love that I can feel your personality and humor in each post. This is a VERY great quality for blogging. It allows your audience to feel like you are a real person and connect with you. Continue to develop your voice this way and it will be a great tool for you to reach your desired audiences. – Meagan

    Like

  3. meaganmthornton April 19, 2015 / 3:22 am

    I had to write on my phone and it was horrible, just so you know. Autocorrect was kicking my butt and it didn’t type as quickly as I wanted it to, or as quickly as typing on a computer or actually writing goes. My thoughts were long gone before I could actually type them out. – Cassie Goff

    Like

Leave a Reply

