A Hero’s Journey – Whitney Hancock

After we discussed the theory of a hero’s journey I had fun comparing it to some of my favorite movies to see how often it shows up. I was surprised to see how nearly every movie I thought of fit the hero’s journey. Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit, Harry Potter, Hunger Games and pretty much every Disney movie I could think of. It may not be used in every story but it is a popular and successful approach.

I started thinking about my own writing and how I struggle when writing fictional stories. I’ve always had a hard time developing characters and plot within my writing. I may come up with an idea of a character or story line and I know it has potential but I always seem to get stuck coming up with important supporting characters or how to develop the plot. I am excited to apply this theory to my next attempt at story telling to see if it helps me.

Leave a Reply

