Digital Usage and Writing Mediums – Breanna Larson

I have been thinking quite a bit about my digital usage and, also, the kinds of mediums I prefer for various different activities.  When I recorded my digital usage for our assignment, I couldn’t help but hate myself a bit for using technology so much. This is not to say that I like technology necessarily, just that it’s a need in this day and age.  On Monday, when we wrote about our childhood rooms using multiple mediums, it got me to thinking about what medium I prefer and why.  I will try and outline my thoughts on why I use technology when I do, and why I don’t when I don’t, and ultimately which medium is the most highly ranked in my mind.

Computer usage: My use of the computer seems to only happen if I need to do homework or if I’m just really bored.  I don’t think there’s a real part of me that wants to, it’s just a medium that’s mostly been forced upon me over the years, and therefore living without it is nearly impossible.  I don’t hate the computer…but I don’t love it either.  I have very mixed feelings about it because while sometimes I enjoy using my computer, I mostly feel like I’m wasting my time on it since I’m always thinking about the other things I could be doing with my time.

Cell phone/iPod usage: Again, I tend to only use these things if I have to or if I’m bored…and the more I think about it, I seem to get bored quite a lot.  I do not at all prefer technology though, because I feel really lazy if I catch myself playing games on my iPod.  I think it’s possible that technology has, in fact, made me a lazier person than I would’ve been otherwise.

Handwriting usage: When it comes to planning, I much prefer writing things down by hand than putting them into a electronic calendar.  I also find that it’s easier to organize thoughts in handwriting than in computer typing because I don’t have to worry about margins or font or anything of that nature.  Computers certainly have their advantages when it comes to writing essays or needing to get some kind of written work done fast, but my best work actually starts in handwritten form and then moves to the technological.

Ultimately I have decided that handwritten words are my preferred mode, but my reasons for why are a little muddled.  There’s just something really appealing about handwriting.  There’s something more natural, real and personal about handwriting, and also something more concrete, that typing on phones or computers doesn’t offer.

Leave a Reply

