Podcast – Up at Noon – Davor Simunovic

Through my life I have always loved the somewhat dorkier things in life: wrestling, video games, comic books, anime, table-top and trading cards. So when I heard that my favorite podcast “UP at Noon” had been cancelled, I was floored. The show had not waned do to viewer dis-intrigue, or a fall in reception, sponsorship, or creative upheaval. The show which entertained me, and kept me listening week after week for years, was gone. Gone – because the persona that was “Up at Noon,” Greg Miller, had departed. After a long battle with cancer, Greg, decided to go his separate ways with IGN and the show that brought him comic fame. Off to pursue other passions, “Kinda Funny,” a new YouTube-based comedy show, Greg leaves with him a time capsule of treasured memories.

I now retroactively listen to the defunct podcast, and I listen to every past moment of glory. As its parent website, IGN, the show offered with it the latest in gaming and gamer culture news. Greg would often have developers, producers, comedians, analysts, wrestlers, writers, and a whole slew of others, on the show. It was beautiful marriage of sketch and tell. The comedy fueled invention of Greg Miller was also story platform. Each episode had a unique narrative drive, which informed and entertained. The sights and sounds of the show were not high budget, but every show was, in itself, a small piece of storytelling magic. Laughter would fill the sound-stage as Greg conducted his concerto of witticisms, shock and awe banter, and childish gaffs – it was great. Primarily through comedy, the show offered with it a sense of belonging; it was my show, and I am sad to see it go. Podcasts, like any other ephemeral component of media, live and die. Podcasts are a wondrous mesh of new media and old-school storytelling. “Up at Noon” was just one of those shows that could show and tell, and I thank Greg, IGN, and its creators for letting me tag along.

2 thoughts on “Podcast – Up at Noon – Davor Simunovic

  1. meaganmthornton February 9, 2015 / 12:25 am

    After reading about your love of this show, I am going to check it out. -Meagan

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton February 9, 2015 / 4:47 am

    I am sorry to hear of your loss. This sounds like a very entertaining podcast and you did a great job capturing it’s character. Your post made me want to check it out. Great job! – Whitney Hancock

    Like

Leave a Reply

