The Web Ahead – Alexander Lewandowski

For better or worse, I’ve never been a lover of podcasts. This is probably because I have a really hard time giving another speaker, especially one that I cannot see, attention for longer than thirty minutes at a time. I also prefer reading a text where I can pick and choose what I want to read or learn about (I am doing this for my leisure time after all) without having to fast forward or wait for the speaker to get to what I want. But despite my gripes, I loaded up the list of 100 podcasts, clicked to the technology section, and took my pick.

Since I am interested in web design and development, I decided to choose to listen to The Web Ahead, a podcast that specifically focuses on internet technologies such as web browsers and standards. The podcast first aired on September 12, 2011, and is hosted by Jen Simmons. I listened to the latest episode, titled “Rethinking Microsoft’s Browser with Rey Bango,” in which the host interviews a Microsoft employee to talk about the company’s latest Spartan web browser. While the podcast was moderately interesting, I honestly found it to be mostly boring since I disagreed with a majority of opinions and statements that the speakers on the show made. Making matters worse, most of the show was also review for me since I tend to be an avid reader of technology articles, and I was unable to skip around or ‘skim’ the podcast for fear of missing a snippet of useful information. Aside from that, I suppose I somewhat enjoyed the podcast, and even learned of a new Microsoft feature used to test out Internet Explorer browser compatibility. Can’t complain there!

I honestly don’t have very much else to say about this podcast in terms of sound effects and storytelling. There were no sound effects used since all of the podcast consisted of the host and her guest’s voice, and there was not much in the way of storytelling aside from the occasional brief story about Internet Explorer or Rey Bango’s job at Microsoft, both of which were very brief and consisted of only the occasional sentence or two. The main purpose of this podcast is to deliver raw facts and information about new technologies for the purpose of web developers, and keeping that in perspective, I would say that this podcast does that moderately well.

One thought on “The Web Ahead – Alexander Lewandowski

  1. meaganmthornton February 9, 2015 / 12:32 am

    You make an interesting point about not being able to control your listening. Once again- digitality makes audiences want that control. Podcasts are a form of orality on a digital platform. Sounds like you wouldn’t have faired well during Homer’s time. -Meagan

    Like

Leave a Reply

