Topics Podcast – Breanna Larson

I’ve never been too fond of podcasts or AM radio or anything along those lines…and I’m still not, but homework decided to say hello so now I’m stuck listening to them.  Thanks.  No it’s alright, I will try to not complain too much because it’s certainly better than reading…and podcasts aren’t completely terrible.  I decided to choose a comedy one in hopes that maybe it wouldn’t be so bad, but I was still a little disappointed with the one I clicked on (sorry!).  It was entitled “Topics” by the long time comedy duo Michael Ian Black and Michael Showalter.  It started on June 17, 2013 and is about tackling serious topics.  Yep, serious ones…and they stay serious mostly.  I’m not sure how that works exactly.  How do two comedians decide to put together a mostly serious podcast?  I was expecting to laugh, and there was hardly anything funny at all.

Anyway, the sound used in the “Topics” podcast consisted of three types: music, talking and silence.  Mostly it’s talking though, and they talk in a very casual and conversational way, almost in the way you would talk to an acquaintance or friend, discussing some hot topics and exploring them some, but mostly theorizing.  This can be interesting, but there’s not much of a story to it, just light conversation.  The music is rather unique though as it is the original music of Dan Deacon.  Alright, I don’t know who that is, but it’s definitely got its own plink-plunk kind of style, kinda rock style sometimes and kinda pop and sometimes techno-ish?  It varies a little, but it’s certainly got its own sound, which I think is important for drawing in listeners (the kind who actually find podcasts interesting…).  I also feel a need to mention the silence within the podcast because the comedians tend to mostly speak slow, probably so that listeners don’t miss any important details, and this leaves gaps between words.  There are also gaps between each person speaking.  The pockets of silence aren’t too long, but they are long enough for listeners to be able to let words sink in before the speakers move on to the next thing, which can create a lasting effect.  The power of the silence is absolutely key to this podcast’s success.

2 thoughts on “Topics Podcast – Breanna Larson

  1. meaganmthornton February 7, 2015 / 2:13 am

    I can see where you’re coming from with how you didn’t find this podcast funny. I find that humor, especially political humor, is hit-and-miss for me at best. But at least this podcast seems to use more types of sound than the one I chose. The way that the podcast incorporates silence seems interesting as well, although I can imagine that the speed of the speakers would drive me crazy. –Alexander Lewandowski

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton February 9, 2015 / 12:28 am

    Don’t give up on podcasts! There are some fantastic ones out there. You just need to find your people! – Meagan

    Like

Leave a Reply

