Sound and Storytelling Reflection – Breanna Larson

When I think about sound and storytelling I first think about the effect that music has on the human brain.  When we listen to music, there is often a story behind the lyrics, which we can picture in our minds, and even when there aren’t any lyrics there are images painted for us through the tunes still.  We can make up our own stories when listening to music.

Sound plays a significant role in the art of film storytelling, which I would know because I’m majoring in film.  I wish we had talked about Foley artists more because they are a part of the film making process that most people hardly realize exist, but without them the sounds we hear in films would not be nearly as good as they are.  Sound effects are made by the Foley artists, even for live action films, because when filming the live action sequences the sound effects usually aren’t loud enough in the original footage so the Foley artists have to recreate these sound to enhance them.  I’ve already had to find sound effects for the films I’ve made, including keyboard typing and cell phone ringing, even though the original footage contained those sounds already.

One thing I wish I knew more about in the sound and storytelling world is how I can know what volume to use for each sound effect, especially when there’s an overlap in sound effects, music and talking.  At what volume do you put each of these sounds so that it doesn’t sound wrong?  It’s probably all just got to be played by ear, and you have to hope that you have a good ear for sound or else the sound story won’t play out in the way you would have liked it to.

2 thoughts on “Sound and Storytelling Reflection – Breanna Larson

  1. meaganmthornton February 12, 2015 / 2:55 pm

    It’s interesting that you bring up sound and movies. If a movie doesn’t have good music to go with the ebb and flow of the emotions, then I tend to get bored with it. Also, if the sound effects are missing or poorly executed, I check out completely. I don’t think I would have fared well in the silent movie era. But I do like piano… maybe I would?

    In this post, I liked how you set a sort of goal for yourself at the end. That’s a great idea. I think I’ll do that in my next post. – Amber Sandberg

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton April 19, 2015 / 3:55 am

    I would have liked to learned more about Foley artists as well. – Cassie Goff

    Like

Leave a Reply

