Storytelling with Sound – Sara Haller

It has been interesting for me to think of sounds and storytelling juxtaposed. Though I have heard stories through sound I hadn’t consciously realized that a story was being told through that particular medium. Pixar comes to mind as a company that uses sound, and particularly sound effects, to tell their stories when they do short films. The premise of their short films is that they use no vocals and instead rely on sound and visual for humor and storyline. I noticed in the past that because their parameters don’t allow them to rely on the most straightforward form of communication (language) their story becomes stronger. The story is told through more powerful means such as sound effect, body language, and visual. It seems counterintuitive that the sound rather than language can have a greater affect to communicate.

Sound is something that I am not particularly interested in pursuing, though I think if pursued could be a great profit generator if executed correctly. I suppose my questions that remain about sound is how it is marketable in the social media market world and how it is relevant to the general public. Or I suppose a better way of saying that is how it is accessible for the public to generate. Software such as Garageband and Audacity has made strides in bringing this capability into the hands of amateurs.

2 thoughts on “Storytelling with Sound – Sara Haller

  1. meaganmthornton February 12, 2015 / 8:11 pm

    Great example with Pixar! I didn’t even make that connection, which is kind of sad since Wall.e is one of my favorite movies. I completely agree with you that sound has a great capacity to facilitate communication. I think sometimes we get bogged down with convention and forget about the basics of sight and sound. The same basics that essentially helped our ancient ancestors survive and get us to here. A lot can be said with a little, we just need to re-learn how to listen. – Steph Hunter

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton April 19, 2015 / 3:52 am

    I never thought about storytelling with sound being a way to break a language barrier. This is a great point that will go in my memory bank. If a writer has a story that they want to tell to a broader audience, maybe sound is the way to go so they don’t have to worry about translating. -Cassie Goff

    Like

Leave a Reply

