Reflections on Noise by Codey Herrera

The last week has been one spent on creating a 60 second sound clip. It is still hard for me to believe that so much time can go into such a short clip. I have never imagined myself using sound as a way of telling a story. I have always found myself using text in order to convey language, which now seems to be a problem, as I’ve been able to experience the benefits of using sound as a means of storytelling. I don’t know if I’ll continue to use sound instead of text, but it will definitely be an option I keep in mind now. The questions on I have on sound are just technical ones pertaining to how to utilize some other sound editing software. I still feel like am completely inept when it comes to audacity, though I have learned quite a bit from trial and error. I’d like to familiarize myself with some of the software when I have more time to do so. I wish we would have incorporated sound into some other forms of media. I realize we will be doing this at the end of the semester, but I do feel that I would have benefited more from that than just using sound on its own. I also wish we did have more time in class to just explore the software a little bit.

Leave a Reply

