Visual Storytelling -Breanna Larson

When I think about visual storytelling I think of two things: picture books and comics.  I think I want to focus more on comics though because that was my very first initial thought.  Comics in general I guess…comic books, comic strips, meme comics, just comics.  I just wonder…what makes comics more appealing than if they were just short stories?  Couldn’t these comics be entirely written out, describing the characters rather than drawing them?  It’s possible that excessive text could distract from the point though…the stories of comics aren’t meant to be described in detail.  I think they are created because images more directly impact the mind, and convey meanings that words might not even be able to create alone…I’m not sure, so I guess that’s my main question.  How do images differ from words?  How do the different mediums each convey their messages?  That’s kinda what I want to learn more about…

I am taking a Visual Rhetoric class right now and we’ve already talked about some ways in which images can create arguments, so this will be a little similar because now I will be analyzing how images can create stories.  The comparison to text though will be the real challenge because the way the brain treats images over text can get really complicated.  From what I’ve learned, images are received more quickly by the brain while words take more time to process, thus making images more effective in some cases, especially in cases where something needs to be more straightforward.

So here is a funny little comic that I found…I think that it does a good job at using both words and visuals.  The very last visual is especially effective because it tells you everything you need to know about student life in an image.

3 thoughts on “Visual Storytelling -Breanna Larson

  1. meaganmthornton February 19, 2015 / 7:55 pm

    I liked your reflective questioning. Many of them had me pause in deep thought, until I realized I didn’t know the answers and I should probably figure out the answers because I agree with you on many levels. One thing about comics, I think, is that they have the ability to cross boundaries. They are able to reach a larger more diverse audience. Political cartoons are a great example of this, because many people have their opinions set already. A cartoon can sometimes make them see another side through humor. – Amber Sandberg

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton February 20, 2015 / 10:16 pm

    I really like the questions you pose… There is an interesting amount of ambiguity in the difference between words and pictures conveying messages. I think I prefer words sometimes, because they allow me to use my imagination to picture events/places/people, rather than having them spoonfed to me. I’ve never been much of a comic book reader, but I do know that they serve as a very important and unique mode of portraying stories. Great post at the end! Loved it! – Ben Holland

    Like

  3. meaganmthornton April 19, 2015 / 4:23 am

    I love how in the top portion of the comic, it only took twelve minutes to figure out a problem. That’s wishful thinking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

