Noah Bailey – Fantastic Visual Storytelling

nosferatu-fantome-de-la-nuit-1979-3695-1548359692

When I think of fantastic visual storytelling, I always think first and foremost of filmmaking. My favorite film of all time is Nosferatu the Vampyre or, Nosferatu: Phantom der Nacht – (a remake of Murnau’s 1922 classic silent horror film, Nosferatu) by the now legendary and visionary director, Werner Herzog. Herzog was at the forefront of the New Wave of German Cinema in the 1970s and as such, his use of strong imagery in this film is astonishing. The lighting is brilliant, the cinematography is beautiful, avant garde and abstract. The contrast between characters in terms of visual appearance is striking. When I first saw the film as a child, it did its job well. It terrified me. And since that time I have found myself less and less terrified by it. Rather than being scared by the imagery in the film, now I see a beauty in it and the tragedy behind the vampyre who is as much a victim of his own nature as the humans themselves are in the film. I chose this image because to me it highlights the dark beauty, gothic horror and the plight of the vampire who must drink the blood of others to sustain itself. The image truly speaks for itself I feel.

Leave a Reply

