National Geographic – Visual Storytelling Masters – Amy Garcia

When it comes to visual storytelling, you’d be hard pressed to find a source that tells stories more powerfully than the photographers at National Geographic. Recently I found their Instagram page and missed my stop on the way home from Trax (which has never happened before) because I was so enthralled by everything I was learning from the photographs that were posted there. World issues that I didn’t even know were happening were suddenly portrayed vividly, cutting deeply into my heart and mind.  The beautiful images in combination with the eloquent and descriptive captions make the stories quickly comes to life. One aspect of these photos that I find particularly striking is how much time and effort is put in to creating one image. The photographers spend weeks or even months on end in an area trying to capture the essence of an animal, a conflict or an aspect of humanity. One picture, one frame can tell an even greater story than the many many frames that go into producing a video. These pictures tell the story of events, through a single moment. I can only imagine how many frames these photographers go through in order to catch perfect moment. Through what we learned about through the Ted Talk by Antonio Bolfo, I have come to appreciate the perspective that is applied to the situations by the photographers. Sometimes you will see a beautiful pristine landscape or a smiling laughing child, and then the next you will see an burned and barren land or an emaciated and suffering child. I feel like the combination of the points of view comes together to create a complex view of the world that is certainly needed where most of us (myself included) focus on ourselves and getting through our own day. The world is an amazing place and I have to say simply, that I am grateful that National Geographic exists and that the photographers that work for them work so hard to show us the world through their lenses. If you haven’t seen it, check it out! https://instagram.com/natgeo/

2 thoughts on “National Geographic – Visual Storytelling Masters – Amy Garcia

  1. meaganmthornton February 26, 2015 / 12:04 am

    I’m glad you thought of this! National Geographic is a great example of visual storytelling and I’m almost upset that I didn’t think of it. Photographs are definitely a good way to tell stories, and a good way to capture moments that otherwise would’ve been lost and unseen by the world. Through photos we can see parts of the world that we otherwise may have never experienced. Photos tell stories that we see rather than hear or read about. – Breanna Larson

    Liked by 1 person

  2. meaganmthornton April 19, 2015 / 4:34 am

    I started thinking about how entranced we can become in stories when you mentioned that you missed your stop. I definitely get involved in books and loose my sense of time and location. Nowadays, I think a story has to be so intense to be able to entrance an audience like this. There are so many boring stories out there that the general audience doesn’t get this opportunity as much as they should. -Cassie Goff

    Like

Leave a Reply

