Digital Storytelling and Modern Family – Whitney Hancock

I want to share an example of really cool digital storytelling I saw tonight. As much as I love Modern Family I hardly ever watch it. I am usually doing homework in the evenings and can’t watch TV. I decided to take a mental break tonight and saw that Modern Family was on so I stopped to watch the last 10-15 minutes. I missed the first half so I can’t say if the entire episode was filmed this way although I would guess it was since the last half was. As I was watching Modern Family my TV looked as though I was looking at a computer screen. There was a desktop background with icons, minimized programs and FaceTime windows were open. The characters were all in different locations and the entire episode was us watching their FaceTime conversations. We were watching through Claire’s screen and could see what she was doing. While having multiple FaceTime conversations with her kids, husband and extended family we also watched her activities online. She logged onto Facebook, looked through her daughters profiles, had chat windows open which she was carrying conversation on and at one point even opened her picture file and flipped through pictures of her daughter Haley.

You never saw a filmed scene. The entire episode (from what I saw) was done entirely through the new digital world of video chats, social media and online messaging. I think that had I watched this episode a few months ago I obviously would have noticed the difference but wouldn’t have paid much attention to it. Watching it tonight after being in this class made me start to think about this new take on storytelling. Taking a television series and “filming” it entirely through the lens of digital technology and social media and showcasing how different our world is today with how we communicate was really interesting and really well done in this case.

One thought on “Digital Storytelling and Modern Family – Whitney Hancock

  1. meaganmthornton February 26, 2015 / 6:52 am

    Whitney, I love Modern Family! They are very creative with the kinds of jokes they make and how they present their scenes. I think that this is a great example of digital storytelling and pertains to how much we as a society have grown into technology. Thanks for sharing! – Sheridan

    Like

Leave a Reply

