Noah Bailey – Visual Storytelling: Making a Music Video

In November 2014, my solo band, Shadow Windhawk and the Morticians, made its first ever music video. I produced the video and hired my friend and local filmmaker, Adam Judd, to direct it. I decided that I wanted to pay tribute to the “Halloween” slasher horror franchise by doing a video for my song, “Halloween ’63”, which loosely retells the story of the night Michael Myers murdered his sister in 1963 until the night he returned home to kill again, fifteen years later (in the lyrics). The process began with me fleshing out the basic storyline against the music, which is to say I came up with a bunch of shots I wanted and then brought them to Adam. I gave Adam my production budget and my ideas and he hired a crew and rented a Red Epic to shoot the video. I brought on a stunt actor named Jason Brentner to play Michael Myers and had my guitarist, Tony, play the victims in the video. I contacted the owners of a local mansion in Aves which was used as the Michael Myers’ House in “Halloween 5” (filmed mainly in Salt Lake City). I asked permission to use the house for exterior shots and they agreed, which was amazing. I then bought a replica Michael Myers mask, knife and jumpsuit and modified them to look more authentic using acrylic paint and spray paint. We assembled my band and the film crew with props, sets, equipment and makeup ready to go on November 7th 2014 and shot the entire video in one day, using the Castle of Chaos Haunted House in Taylorsville for interior shots and the Myers Mansion in the Avenues of SLC for exteriors. My band spent $1,000 producing the video. We ended up releasing it on YouTube officially in December 2014. The video has had a very positive response for the most part and I’m quite proud of how it turned out.

You can check it out for yourselves at this link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Qnt4ltdMB4

One thought on “Noah Bailey – Visual Storytelling: Making a Music Video

  1. meaganmthornton February 27, 2015 / 7:55 pm

    Pretty awesome video! Cool how you related it to telling a story with images. I think the music and the video and the images all work well together to form a context that jives with the message you’re sending. Thanks for sharing! – Ben Holland

    Like

Leave a Reply

