The Video Post – Amber Sandberg

I just finished a Ted Talk that featured youtube video-producing superstar Zach King.   There are a couple of things from this little talk that sparked some interest. First, any Tom, Dick, or 13-year-old has the ability and tools to create movies, and second, that in this age of super and duper special affects, good videos and movies are a result of only one thing: a good story.

Anyone, even 13-year-olds can create a movie these days. I’ve seen proof as I have a 13-year-old living in my house who has made some pretty spectacular movies. I pulled up that Ted Talk to do the homework (tried to make my homework a family affair) and the 13-year-old hollered “I’ve seen this one! That guy is I awesome!”

Where have I been?!

My concern about this anyone-can-create-a-movie phenomenon, is the muchness of it all. Meaning, there is a bunch and it might be just too much. Or maybe not? Who knows, I’m just sorting through this stuff as I go. Part of my concern, is that I’m sure there are millions of great stories out there, and I’m never going to see them because I lack the patience to wade through the muck and mire. I only have so much time left in my little life and I need to see all of the good movies.

On the flip side, I have extreme faith in human-kind’s ability to spread the good movies around, so maybe the good movies will just float to the top and I won’t have to wade through all of that muck and mire. It’s possible, what with social networking and whatnot.

The second interesting thing I noticed was that no matter the quality, a good movie is all about story. I’ve seen some bad movies in my days. You know, the kind that cost trillions and have seizure-inducing special effects. Yawn. Don’t get me wrong, special effects are great and necessary, but sometimes the movie is just that: special effects. Special effects bore me. I just want to pull all of the big-wig movie producers aside and say “You gotta have a story or your special effects will bore me!”

Now I’ll move on to the official stuff.  I don’t have any experience with video storytelling.  I’m excited to get the basics and get going.  Video is very important for digital storytelling because we are visual people and video uses a majority of our senses.  For video, there’s something for everyone: image, sound, movement.

2 thoughts on “The Video Post – Amber Sandberg

  1. meaganmthornton March 5, 2015 / 12:30 am

    I love that your 13 year old makes movies, it reminds me of one of my favorite movies, Super 8. They use the old school film equipment to make their movie about zombies. In the movie the kids even say that they want their movie to be good, to make people feel something. I think thats what makes good stories or video in this case. I agree with the idea that humanity will allow the good to float to the top! -Hannah Marble

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton March 5, 2015 / 3:49 am

    I agree the overload of media available to us is overwhelming sometimes. I also agree with you about the cinematic special effects, because I’m exactly the same way. I think producers get so caught up in all the amazing things we can do with technology they forget a solid and creative plot is what makes a movie a classic we want to watch over and over again.
    Erynn Pontius

    Like

Leave a Reply

