Video Storytelling – Alexander Lewandowski

Unlike the other two mediums we’ve worked with in this class, I have little-to-no experience with video storytelling beyond basic slideshows made in Windows Movie Maker. Come to think of it, I haven’t worked creatively with anything video-related for what feels like years, not even to the point of taking a video or something on my phone, so this should be an exciting new project that is hopefully not terribly challenging.

As for what I’d like to learn, that’s a difficult question considering my inexperience with this area and the limited time we have to cover things in class. I suppose that at the most basic level, I want to know the “how” of creating our video story with iMovie, which we’ll of course be covering this in class, but I’ll probably also go outside the class time and find external iMovie tutorials just to ensure that I’m throughly familiar with the program and all its features.

In addition to that, I’d like to learn how and where to find or create good content. I don’t have a very good idea of what I want to do yet, but I’m hoping that most of it involves original material I film myself, and if this is the case, I’d appreciate it if the class went over a few tips or instructions on how to film well.

Lastly, I think that video is important to digital storytelling because video is the closest mainstream storytelling medium that is closest to how we experience real-life. As much as I love audio, image and textual storytelling, video really is the best way to, bring a story to life, and is very easy to consume.

One thought on “Video Storytelling – Alexander Lewandowski

  1. meaganmthornton March 5, 2015 / 5:02 am

    I am in complete agreement with you – video stands to be the most representative medium of visual communication. Video can further extend itself as a platform for storytelling. I too am somewhat hesitant in my abilities to form an effectively produced video.
    – Davor Simunovic

    Like

Leave a Reply

