Video Storytelling – Davor Simunovic

Videos seem to be one of the most prevalent ways of consuming digital story. Our digital landscape is filled, maybe even cluttered, with visually driven motion pieces. Story has become somewhat synonymous with cinema (long and short). Video stands to be the most representative medium of visual communication. The living picture serves to imitate, emulate, and expose life – life as the show it is.

Story through video as powerful as it may be, still brings out the naivete in me. I am a video neophyte.  I throughout my life have learned all too perfectly how to consume the medium, but never formally how to produce it. I have a combined zero hours of experience in producing, editing, and creating video – the only thing that I have is my intuition. Video seems to be a fascinating storytelling platform that I can’t wait to tackle. I want to know and learn so many things – I couldn’t even begin to tell you were to start. I want to know how to maximize my videos persuasive appeal – what rhetorical devices can I use to better my piece? How can/does story through video make a claim? And how can I actually create a provocative and cogent message through video? I feel as though I know a few things, but I want to keep strengthening my toolkit; I want to improve my abilities to better express story through video.

3 thoughts on “Video Storytelling – Davor Simunovic

  1. meaganmthornton March 5, 2015 / 6:18 am

    Davor, This is exactly how I feel. I know that video is a really prevelant and important platform but I have no formal training. I am also excited to start! – Sheridan Dastrup

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton March 9, 2015 / 4:16 am

    I agree with you. I enjoy videos and movies and am constantly consuming them but have never attempting telling my own story through video. I am both excited and nervous about this project. – Whitney Hancock

    Like

  3. meaganmthornton March 9, 2015 / 9:56 pm

    Davor, your enthusiasm for learning more and more about filmmaking is something that I share with you. As a film major, cinema is my main focus outside of music and I always want to learn more, no matter how many courses I take or how many projects I work on. There’s just so many aspects involved in making films and there is always more to discover. ~ Noah Bailey

    Like

Leave a Reply

