Video Storytelling- Erynn Pontius

My first interaction with video storytelling was in high school when I took a video productions class. That was the first time I ever produced and edited video and had to think about the process of writing pertaining to video. I’ve also had several friends I’ve met throughout school that have an interest and talent with video and have shown me varying types of film. I think there are certain types of plot that require video or either video brings to light a new side and experience to a story. When film was first created it was almost instantly a hit and has remained so throughout the years, the film business  is over a multi-million industry for a reason. The upcoming digital generation and technology has created a great outlet for video and for amateurs the opportunity to develop high-quality video and share it with the world for a minimal cost. Video can connect with people in a way other mediums can’t; it incorporates more than just one sense, both sight and sound as well as script combined together have the potential to create a powerful story.

I personally don’t know very much concerning the development of film or how to capture certain things in a way which is appealing or high-quality. I can take video easily enough on my phone but it isn’t something I put much thought into or consider a production. I would like to learn how to use video to my advantage as a writer because video is a very popular and simple way to express storytelling in a digital space.

2 thoughts on “Video Storytelling- Erynn Pontius

  1. meaganmthornton March 7, 2015 / 4:49 am

    I agree with you that videos are an amazing medium because they have so many dimensions making it a medium with depth. The difficulty lies in managing all these dimensions and creating the right mix such that they compliment each other and accentuate the meaning of the scene as well as the meaning of the work as a whole.
    -Becky Lin

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton March 9, 2015 / 8:57 pm

    I have a lot of the same questions you seem to have… For me it’s always nice to know you’re not the only one wondering about something.–Steven Witkowski

    Like

Leave a Reply

