Visual Storytelling – Sheridan Dastrup

What is your experience with video storytelling?

  • None… Well that is not true. In high school for my Current Issues class, I had to make a commercial that ran for about 1 minute. It basically ended up being a combination of pictures, words, and “Dear Mr. President” by P!nk playing in the background. It has been so long that I am not sure if it even counts as experience. I would say that my experience is minimal and that my editing experience is nonexistent.

What would you like to learn?

  • Video is a really cool thing to learn because it isn’t something that many people know how to do and can be used to do a lot of different things. Being able to work in a video medium is very transferable. I guess I would like to learn all of it. That isn’t really helpful but at the moment my skills have only up to go. I think the thing that I am most interested in doing, is learning how to edit together a video well. That skill will be really helpful and really versatile.

Why do you think video is important to digital storytelling?

  • Video is important to digital storytelling because incorporates all of the other elements that we have talked about in class. While both audio and visual have their own benefits, video takes all of these benefits and puts them into one thing. It allows for a story to be fully told. There is no room for ambiguity in video because you have the audio and the picture. The story is active and being told to its fullest.
One thought on “Visual Storytelling – Sheridan Dastrup

  1. meaganmthornton March 7, 2015 / 3:02 am

    Well at least you have some sort of video experience, regardless of the quality of the final project or how long ago you made it. I don’t think I’ve made anything video-related similar to what you described. The closest thing I can claim are really terrible slideshows made in Windows Movie Maker.

    I also like your opinion on what makes video important. I feel like video will stay the best and “most-realistic” way of telling a human story until we develop a widely-accessible and high-quality form of virtual reality.

    ~Alexander Lewandowski

    Like

Leave a Reply

