Visual Storytelling – Whitney Hancock

I have not produced a visual story before so I cannot speak of personal experiences with visual storytelling. However, visual storytelling is everywhere and is a part of my daily life. Scrolling through social media you come across videos constantly, many of them are pointless but occasionally you will come across a great story. People will email youtube videos to me of great stories or short documentaries. Even at my company meetings. I work for the headphones company Skullcandy. The marketing team is always creating videos to promote our new products or highlight an athlete or musician we sponsor. There is always great storytelling in those videos to hook the audience and get them interested in our product.

Growing up I remember watching shows like Sesame Street that used storytelling to teach important lessons. I loved Disney movies and Saturday morning cartoons. I still love Disney movies but have also grown interest in silent shorts, documentaries and a handful of television series. There are some amazing visual storytellers that are able to tell their story flawlessly, making it easy for the audience to feel a part of the story. I notice the importance of visual storytelling even more now that I have completed a sound story. I brainstormed through multiple ideas of stories I would love to tell and realized quickly how hard it was going to be telling a story with only sound. Visuals add so much to a story, it is hard to make up for it’s absence.

2 thoughts on “Visual Storytelling – Whitney Hancock

  1. meaganmthornton March 6, 2015 / 3:31 am

    That’s awesome you work at Skullcandy. I know one of the engineers that works there. Video storytelling is definitely ubiquitous in marketing. I thought it was interesting when you mentioned trying to make up for the absence of visuals. I agree images are a powerful tool and our first project was an eye opening experience. But I feel that our increase in storytelling tools and elements is overwhelming rather than liberating. I find there are too many avenues to explore and it’s hard to choose what will work well together to best relay a quality story. -Steph Hunter

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton March 8, 2015 / 7:26 pm

    Thank you for your great insight! I think this class is really helping us look at storytelling from a new angle. Very cool that you work at Skullcandy. There are a lot of very talented storytellers out there, and I think that it is becoming more natural.

    Like

Leave a Reply

