Image Project Reflection Hannah Marble

Images to me in the past were just simple beautiful things that were to be viewed. After completing this image project I have realized that so much more is involved in creating an images or set of images that hold value and at the very core tell a story.

One of my favorite things I have reflected on after completing this assignment is the small facets that create a good cohesiveness within images that come in sets. I have thought about the pieces within images that fit with each other. How do the images change when they are alone and how do they reflect something larger when they are included in a grouping of photographs? I think that thinking about context and platform influenced me the most. I reflected on what exactly would make my image an effect one. In many cases when I was trying to think of how to collect the images in a cohesive way I thought about my audience, the platform it would end up on and how that image would basically hold up on its own without prior knowledge of its intent.

Another aspect that I thought about was how vast the title image covers. Image is a blanket word and I found myself trying to decipher what type of image I was creating and why the title was important to the image. Collage, infographic, grouping, these terms all hold images and are made up of images however, they help to give better understanding. I think that reflecting on this image project knowing what type of image I wanted to create also helped to cultivate the story that I knew would crop up. The story also helped to direct the images together, they had to be done together. Throwing too opposite genres together would not create the most cohesive image story.

Most importantly I came to appreciate well made and beautiful images regardless of type because I knew the effort that came behind the image.

2 thoughts on “Image Project Reflection Hannah Marble

  1. meaganmthornton March 10, 2015 / 5:53 am

    I agree with you! Many of the things you considered during your project I did too as well. It was very interesting to have a new perspective and details to consider while working with image.
    Erynn Pontius

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton March 13, 2015 / 7:46 am

    I like that you talked about the use of words alongside images. There’s that famous saying that a picture is worth a thousand words so it only makes it harder when you have to summarize that into a title of one to (at most around) ten words. It’s difficult to try to weave words and images together but if done right, it potentially adds a world of meaning to the image.
    -Becky Lin

    Like

Leave a Reply

