Visual Storytelling Reflection – Breanna Larson

I have learned that visual storytelling is a rather tedious art… Making something look good and polished takes much more work than I had previously expected.  I made my whole visual from scratch though, which might be why it was so unexpectedly time consuming, but I can’t imagine that it would’ve been much easier had I taken the route of re-purposing images.  Finding cohesion and telling a story in a way that I do not often tell stories is difficult because it’s something I’m not used to.  I mean, I’ve written comics before, even many times, but I’ve done a lot more in the way of writing stories than I have in drawing them, therefore making writing easier to me because it’s what I’m the most accustomed to.  Visual storytelling I think is something that needs to be practiced to be mastered…like most things are.

I wish we had explored the realm of comics a little bit more, since that’s the area of visual storytelling that intrigues me the most, but because time was limited I’m not really surprised it wasn’t touched on much, which is fine.  I don’t think I have any questions left about visual storytelling really.  I can’t think of anything, but I will say that there’s always something to learn about everything.  It’s impossible to know a subject in its entirety, even if one becomes an expert in that subject.  There’s always more to know.  I would say that telling stories through visuals is effective, but difficult at the same time.

3 thoughts on “Visual Storytelling Reflection – Breanna Larson

  1. meaganmthornton March 11, 2015 / 8:57 pm

    I agree. It really is crazy to see how much work it takes to make beautiful visuals. You might look at an Instagram post and think that whoever it was just snapped the picture but in reality most of the really good visuals took a lot of composition, planning, and a really nice camera. – Sara Haller

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton March 11, 2015 / 8:59 pm

    I agree that visual storytelling through art is tedious, so much work goes into the images we see as final drafts that it is easy to overlook all the trial and error. I reflected back on this in my own creation of a visual image. Especially wanting it to look polished was tricky!

    Hannah Marble

    Like

  3. meaganmthornton March 12, 2015 / 2:39 am

    I hit that same fork in the early stages of my image project: whether to re-purpose or self-produce. I chose to self-produce, and similarly, I felt that the creative was being limited by the applicant. It’s quite difficult manufacturing a piece from scratch, and although I don’t regret it, I feel that maybe re-purpose could of better served my intended message.
    – Davor Simunovic

    Like

Leave a Reply

