Video Story Production – Stephanie Hunter

I like the video story medium. It reminds me of the audio project in that there are innumerable options available for creative creation. I spent a lot of time pouring over videos and images trying to find the best clips and when I found something I thought was appropriate it was difficult to cut it down and remove excess footage. Then when the clips were placed together I’d second guess my draft, wondering if I should add more footage to a particular vein or reduce it from another. The numerous resources made it hard to progress with production of the story.

I also struggled with the actual production and incorporation of music. For production I used Movie Maker, which is essentially the same as iMovie although maybe not as nicely formatted. I was able to navigate through the process but it took me hours of doing it the hard way before I figured out a shortcut of the same task. With music incorporation, I am torn between two songs, both relevant although one is more culturally relevant, and the other, more obscure but more deeply connected to the premise of the story. I could use both but I don’t have a clear story transition for the switch. I also find it difficult to switch from the music I want to add, to video clips’ narration. Most of the narrations I selected have their own background music which doesn’t exactly flow with the music I’d like to use.

I have a greater respect for professional video production after doing this project. The tools available today make video an easy and accessible medium for story creation, but it takes a good story, or a creative perspective to make a good story (like in the case of the cow yodeling), and excellent editing to stand out from everyone else’s productions. I imagine it’s frustrating.

2 thoughts on “Video Story Production – Stephanie Hunter

  1. meaganmthornton March 25, 2015 / 5:04 pm

    I agree that video relies on a good story and good editing in order to be successful. That’s what makes video so hard. Because while the editing software isn’t too difficult to figure out, and while anyone can go out and film things or get footage from the internet, it takes true skill to take all those things and create something that flows right and resonates with viewers. – Breanna Larson

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton April 21, 2015 / 9:19 pm

    I had a hard time with Movie Maker as well. It took me a few hours to get the music exactly how I wanted it. I also wanted to zoom in on a video and couldn’t figure out how to do it. Glad Im not the only one! – Cassie Goff

    Like

Leave a Reply

