Video Storytelling – Davor Simunovic

Video editing, first and foremost, is not my forte. Frustration quickly set in, as I began story-boarding my project. I knew that I did not have the appropriate amount of computer-savvy to initiate my overly-ambitious idea. Video is something that I always wanted to learn but nothing that I ever expected to master. I immediately had thoughts on downsizing my initial ideas, but I knew that a different narrative approach would have muddled the original vision.

I had to broaden my resources. I drew thematic inspiration from some of our early class discussions, and I gleaned much of what I wanted to do from our visual storytelling project. Currently as I am writing this, I am somewhat stumbling again – I have a better foothold than before, but am still somewhat baffled. I’ll take whatever comes out of this project, much of my video anxieties have escaped me. Similarly to the sound project, I was extremely hesitant in tackling it, but I managed to successfully contrive a piece. Overall, the experience has been a little hectic, but it is not over yet; I am hoping that I will take away as much from this project as the others.

One thought on “Video Storytelling – Davor Simunovic

  1. meaganmthornton March 29, 2015 / 11:47 pm

    I had a similar experience. My initial idea was a bit too ambitious for my skills set and left me feeling frustrated. I did eventually change my mind on my project and felt much more comfortable with that idea. Video would be fun to explore more when I have the time! – Whitney Hancock

    Like

Leave a Reply

