Video Storytelling – Whitney Hancock

Video has been challenging but exciting to work in. The challenge has been finding the right audio and music to pair with the video to tell the right story. I chose to re-purpose existing film to tell a different story for my project. Editing the film and finding my own audio to effectively tell my story was challenging. It was especially challenging being unfamiliar with the software needed for film editing. It was an entirely new medium of storytelling and while I enjoyed it, it was more difficult that I expected.

What I did like was the ability to use both video and audio together to tell a story. The multiple components available in video: image, sound, video and even text makes it a really fun medium to work in. I didn’t feel as restricted in the process as I have for previous projects and I feel it boosted my creativity. I think I would really enjoy creating my own video including filming my own material. I would have loved to explore that option but was not confident I would be able to do it effectively with the time we have.

One thought on “Video Storytelling – Whitney Hancock

  1. meaganmthornton March 29, 2015 / 5:29 am

    I agree with you in the regard that finding and determining what audio to include on or over the video. I think that the audio that accompanies a film can ultimately make or break it!

    Hannah Marble

    Like

Leave a Reply

