Working with Video – Steven Witkowski

I enjoyed the entire video medium process a lot. For someone with no previous experience working with film I found the writing/storyboarding came easy but as expected the editing has been the most difficult part. Unfortunately, I probably bit off more than I could chew when we first started the assignment but I loved how easy it was to adjust with the medium because you can tell so many different stories with much of the same footage/images using video by implementing different sound or mixing up the images in a different way. I’ve come to terms with the fact I am just not going to be impressed with what I turn in no matter what, and I guess since it’s my first time I’m ok with that. It really has been a struggle to edit down the clips I had into a developed narrative that went with the idea I had to parody the show “Chopped.” Just finding the right characters to pull from episodes and which judges I wanted to include while developing a script took a long time. To me that was the hard part, but it was casting in a sense. Then I decided all that and had a story for the clips so finding the right clips was next and that process was long and tedious too. To my surprise, the sound involved which is voice overs of the chefs and real sound from the show was easier than everything I had done before the sound. Each small process is becoming longer as I get further into it, and I really should spend more time on a lot of things than I have but at some point you just have to turn something in and that is another challenge that all or at least most filmmakers struggle with I’m sure. Deadlines and time frames dictate how much work you can really do with video because without them you could easily spend years developing and improving a film, re-shooting and editing again, but for our assignment it definitely helped me realize much better exactly how much work and time associated with that work goes into a short video.

2 thoughts on “Working with Video – Steven Witkowski

  1. meaganmthornton March 26, 2015 / 11:47 pm

    Steven, I agree that you could spend infinite amounts of time on a film project. I found one of the hardest things to do was decide where to end the video! ~ Noah Bailey

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton March 30, 2015 / 4:12 pm

    I totally agree, Steven. This project really pushed my time limits to their limit! The biggest challenge was balancing out what could be done in a short amount of time with what story you had to tell. – Ben Holland

    Like

Leave a Reply

