I Believe- Sara Haller

I believe that all people are mostly good. I have the unusual job of teaching drivers education mainly in spanish.

The majority of my students are adults from all over the world who are either learning to drive for the first time or have to go through drivers ed because they are new residents of Utah. To say I have more than a few exciting stories is an understatement.

One of the things I enjoy most about my job is the opportunity that I have to meet people. My job is like people watching on steroids. I have driven with people from nearly every major nation on earth and I have two hours to hear about their culture, language, religion, families and everything in between.

On my little mini journeys in the car I get to hear about people and what makes them tick and what their story is. Though at first glance perhaps even most look a little rough I come to see that they are mostly good. They want good things and have good desires but their core beliefs or upbringing has often caused them to go in a direction that only brings hardship to other people. Especially young teenage boys I see how they get into trouble and yet in their heart of hearts they aren’t doing it because they are bad but because they are in some ways lost as to how to get respect, be loved, be valued.

In every language, culture, religion and background I have seen that people are mostly good.

One thought on “I Believe- Sara Haller

  1. meaganmthornton April 15, 2015 / 8:39 pm

    What a interesting job. Oh I bet you have stories. Start writing them!! This could be a great collection of work. – Meagan

    Like

Leave a Reply

