I Believe – Sheridan Dastrup

I believe that anyone can do what they want when they put their mind to it. I don’t believe that it is easy but with some hard work and persistence a dream can become a reality. My dad is a great example of this persistence. Over the course of the last ten years, my dad has written two screenplays. One of them is a movie screenplay that Warner Brothers tried to buy from him; the other is a television screenplay that has found some recognition in LA. While it has been a hard journey, he has never been closer to making his dream come true and I truly believe that he will see them realized.

Over the last year I have also seen this tenacity in the students that I have worked with. Many of these children come from hard backgrounds and have had a hard time learning to read. During my time as the Site Team Leader I have seen how much hard work can change your life even when you are only seven years old. I have seen 2nd graders who couldn’t read past a kindergarten level soar to grade level. I have seen 3rd graders who were reading below grade level go above and beyond grade level.

One of the most hardworking little boys that I have ever met was a 2nd grader who couldn’t be put in our intervention at the beginning of the year because he was too low. Halfway through the year and after countless after school sessions with his teacher, he had gone from a nonreader to reading a first grade level. Now he is working with a tutor one on one and is close to grade level. These examples have proven to me that not only can I do what I want to do but that anybody despite hardships can move towards their dreams. I believe that anybody can do what they put their mind to.

3 thoughts on “I Believe – Sheridan Dastrup

  1. meaganmthornton April 9, 2015 / 6:16 pm

    Yeah, your belief is extremely encouraging. Be positive, optimistic – and not pessimistic – and put your full 100% into things and you’ll get results. Hard work pays off!
    – Davor Simunovic

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton April 10, 2015 / 9:51 pm

    This is definitely true! I’ve met people who have given up on themselves and then they wonder why they can’t accomplish anything. I’ve also met people who have come out of this slump and turned things around just by deciding to work hard. It’s about believing in yourself, realizing your potential, and then taking advantage of your new-found abilities. – Breanna Larson

    Like

  3. meaganmthornton April 15, 2015 / 8:37 pm

    Great post. I love the examples you use that motivate you. Thanks for sharing. -Meagan

    Like

Leave a Reply

