I Believe… Amber Sandberg

I believe lots of things. Some of my beliefs are fluffy and fun while others are deep, determined and devout. Then there are some that are sanctioned upon a lifetime of semiotic tradition, cultural reform, the need to rebel and a twist of the good ‘ole Golden Rule. But then I have some beliefs that fit into all eight (or is it nine?) of the aforementioned categories. An example? I believe in spontaneity.   It’s an essential part of my existence. I dare say that being spontaneous borders upon an essential need as it is “known” and not “believed” that the absence of spontaneity crushes my soul! Truly, it does.

So what does it mean to be spontaneous? Perhaps we should start with what it is not: the scheduling and planning of every last minute of every last day of your dreadful life. Sadly, external forces, obligation and that horrible R-word, “responsibility,” have a tendency to eat your entire family, half of your friends, and all of their time combined. Before you know it, you wake up each day feeling behind and anxious, which can lead to a sort of spontaneous, but with the added bonus of combustion.

According to the dictionary a la Random House, “spontaneous” is “coming or resulting from a natural impulse or tendency; without effort or premeditation; natural and unconstrained; unplanned.” My favorite parts of that definition are the natural impulse, unconstrained and unplanned parts. In a word, “spontaneous” is homologous to freedom. It’s doing what you feel like doing, when you feel like doing it, without the hassle of preordained rigaramole and schedule checking. It’s running barefoot because you found mud, calling a friend for a quick connection, Pho on a moment’s notice, baking cupcakes at midnight, jumping on a trampoline when rain begins to drop, sleeping in, running for brunch without a shower and dropping any and all to tell a loved one they’re loved.

Spontaneity is reaching into your guts, most major organs, and all five senses to listen, greet and provide front stage to your simplest and most urgent desires. Oh how I believe in that.

3 thoughts on “I Believe… Amber Sandberg

  1. meaganmthornton April 11, 2015 / 10:08 am

    I love your final paragraph and the definition of spontaneity you give. There are those who lack impulse control and these spontaneous persons become serial killers. However, there is a big difference between “Singin’ in the Rain” and “Dexter”.

    I remember I was once more spontaneous than I am now. Even when I was in the Air Force, I would have moments of spontaneity (not really in uniform, though) . When I left the service and returned home I felt more free to be spontaneous. I would hang with friends, stand on hilltops and dance in the rain and laugh with the wind.

    Then the pressure of society and what was expected of me pounced and I have nearly forgotten what it means to be spontaneous. This came at a good time as I am re-examining my existence as more than just living by expectation and regaining what I had long ago lost.

    – Michael S. Webster

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton April 12, 2015 / 8:23 pm

    You know, some ancient dreaming cultures believe that we dream everything before it happens. That waking life is just a lesson in remembrance of what we’ve already done in our dreams, making spontaneity moot.

    I think those that adhere to spontaneity don’t lack impulse control but rather have a more refined level of control. They have a deeper understanding of their own needs and priorities, and in all likelihood the needs of others. Your spontaneous nature is keeping you happy and healthy, and consequently, you are more able to deal with your other responsibilities. You can’t go wrong with this; continue to revel in it.

    You could even go so far as to say you spontaneity is linked to your intuition, (listening to your senses…) It is entirely possible that your sense of spontaneity is actually a response to some distant call of another. Thanks for sharing. – Steph Hunter

    Like

    • meaganmthornton April 15, 2015 / 8:25 pm

      Such great comments and a fantastic post. Anything that you read and then makes you want to act, change and perhaps be something new is a great piece of work. Thanks for sharing. -Meagan

      Like

Leave a Reply

