The Kitchen Is My Therapist – (This I believe) Whitney Hancock

At the end of a long day of work and school most people would look forward to resting when they get home. Some can’t wait to go for a run or read a book or have a glass of wine. I enjoy all of these things but for me I look forward to whatever I am about to create in the kitchen. People who know my schedule always ask how I find time and energy to cook or bake but for me this is what I need to unwind from my day.

There is something about taking a bunch of separate ingredients, throwing them together and making something delicious. Each finished product is equally rewarding from the wedding cakes to a simple pasta dinner for me and my husband. I love it. I have a serious love affair with food. I travel just to try new things and get new ideas for my own kitchen. I watch Food Network like its my job and have a serious addiction to the food page on Pinterest. I am constantly exploring new recipes and techniques and can’t wait to eat it.all.

The absolute best part about cooking is when you get to cook for other people and see their reactions to your food. My Italian grandmother centered all of our family events and holidays around the dinner table. She cooked for every occasion and everyone and she kept everyone’s plates full. She grew my interest in cooking and showed me the gratification that comes from full bellies and happy faces. I was very close to my grandmother so carrying on her love of cooking keeps her close. I put everything into my food – yes, even love – and to see that pay off and have the people I love enjoy it is pure joy.

My husbands favorite nickname for me is “magician of the kitchen.” It’s a silly name but I wear it with pride. I couldn’t imagine life without cooking and baking. I always say my mid-life crisis will be quitting my job and finally opening a diner with a menu filled with all of my favorites. So this I believe – the kitchen is my therapist.

2 thoughts on “The Kitchen Is My Therapist – (This I believe) Whitney Hancock

  1. meaganmthornton April 13, 2015 / 9:50 pm

    I love that the thing you believe in the most in essence is yourself and your ability to create things that start at such a simple base. -Hannah Marble

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton April 15, 2015 / 8:07 pm

    I believe in this same thing. There is a power to unwinding over a range fully of sizzling and bubbling pots. – Meagan

    Like

Leave a Reply

