This I Believe- Sam Watson

I believe that success is a subjective concept. I also believe that the point of life is to be happy. These two concepts are intertwined to make up my basic philosophy on life, and that is that success and happiness are the same thing. In the past, I have oft struggled with using my peers as measuring sticks for what I thought of as success. I would see my friends, classmates, or coworkers accomplishing certain things in their own lives, and feel that if I wasn’t doing the same, or similar things to them, then I was not going to be as “successful”. It has taken me 23 years to being realizing that my concept of success is different from everyone else’s. After my first two years of college, I decided to take some time off of school. I felt pressure from friends and family to continue straight through with school, so that I could enter the workforce and be “successful”. I was nervous taking time off in order to work for little pay to be able to pursue things that I love doing. However, after skiing and exploring the desert for two years, I realized that I was happy with what I had done. I wasn’t making as much money as some of my peers, which deemed my less “successful” in some peoples’ eyes, but I was loving my life. Now, I am back in school to complete a degree (which I feel is necessary in our world), and I have a new perspective on my life. Happiness, for me, is the ultimate success. If I’m happy, I feel that I must be doing something right. After all, for all I know I only have one shot at life, so I might as well make it count and love what I do.

One thought on “This I Believe- Sam Watson

  1. meaganmthornton April 15, 2015 / 8:04 pm

    Sam if you have learned this at 23, you are miles ahead of soooo many. A cool post on how we view success and happiness. Thanks for you sharing your perspective. -Meagan

    Like

Leave a Reply

