Why I Write – Davor Simunovic

Why I write? A simple question or the beginning of a long answer. I often ask myself, maybe too often, why is it that I write? Writing outside of the academic arena is somewhat new to me. For the longest time I would never profess myself as being a writer – not a serious one, anyway. And furthermore, I was not someone who even enjoyed reading. In the past, I wrote because I simply had to. I was forced to by teachers, parents, and bosses. But I have since changed. Writing is now a very different thing then it used to be. I now write because it fills me with excitement. It honestly ignites my emotions. As corny as it sounds, writing can’t hurt me. I can be fearless when I put pen to paper, or hands to keyboard. Writing is not something that is a burden anymore. Writing helps me to archive my thoughts, memories, and adventures.  Writing helps me to relive and reflect on experiences.

I love storytelling, and I want to tell stories. Writing allows me to do that. Writing is cheap. I don’t need a camera or an expensive program to build a compelling narrative; I already have all the tools: a pencil, a paper (or a computer) . . . but most importantly, my thoughts. The whys might change over time, but writing is something that will always exist for me. I have a new passion and joy for writing. I am now proud to call myself a writer.

2 thoughts on “Why I Write – Davor Simunovic

  1. meaganmthornton April 19, 2015 / 7:14 pm

    It’s cool how you’ve transitioned from having to write to wanting to write. I especially like the last of your first paragraph when you talk about writing and your emotions. It’s interesting that writing can give us a sense-of-control and at the same time an incredible freedom to be boundless. I also like how you acknowledge the possibility of change in the reason why you write; you’re comfortable with its fluidity, almost welcoming it; very cool. – Steph Hunter

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton April 19, 2015 / 10:56 pm

    I too loved how you said your opinion about writing has changed. Writing provides us with so much opportunity yet some people never learn to recognize it as something that can benefit them in more ways than one.
    Erynn Pontius

    Like

Leave a Reply

