And so I write – Stephanie Hunter

Some argue nature, others nurture. I tend to fall in the middle, believing most everyone is a product of both deep rooted psychological patterns and environmental surface structure. At some point we all grow up and are consciously, or unconsciously, faced with the decision to either continue to be what we’ve been born and raised to be, or to adapt to be something different.

I didn’t grow up in a bad home. I was never beaten. Always provided for. Given lots of opportunities. In actuality, I was spoiled rotten. But one thing I didn’t have growing up was an example of clear, effective, respectful verbal communication. With everything else in life falling under the category of traditional, this little snag caught and quickly unraveled. I developed a pretty messed up fear of speaking, which effected other aspects of my life, contributed to my social awkwardness and ultimately, my introversion. We can’t all escape to Walden’s Pond to claim genius, so I employed time, acceptance, inevitability and straight up “faking-it” to help me deal with the fear but nothing really helped me be a better speaker. And so I write. Luckily, time, acceptance, inevitability, “faking-it” and an acquired heightened awareness of tone (a side effect of eternal interpretation) all help with writing. Somewhere along the way, writing became less about survival within an interconnected world and more about connection with the world. I almost think that those that don’t agonize over tone while composing a thirteen word text are at a decided disadvantages. To some degree, everything I write is a facet of who I am, who I was and who I will be.

So while some argue nature, and others nurture, I’m an advocate of adaption.

2 thoughts on “And so I write – Stephanie Hunter

  1. meaganmthornton April 19, 2015 / 1:43 am

    Stephanie,

    This is beautiful! I agree that it is easier to write sometimes than it is to speak. – Sheridan Dastrup

    Like

  2. meaganmthornton April 20, 2015 / 8:02 pm

    I can relate XD I’m more of an introvert so I prefer observing things and expressing them through art or written word because in my world, that is my language and how I connect to the world around me. -Becky Lin

    Like

Leave a Reply

