Why I Write – Michael S. Webster

Why I write.  The seldom asked companion to “What do I write”.   Part of the answer is probably the same as most writers.  To reach out to others or to entertain or to find some measure of immortality.   Why I write is to exorcise the demons in my head.  The little bastards.

Some of those demons are related to emotional wounds I’ve received in the past, but most of them are those demons that keep me awake at night or torment my dreams pondering that most pernicious of questions:  “WHAT IF . . .”  I’ve spent hours in bed, wide awake, and imagining the logical resolutions to various problems of metaphysical or metafictional origin.  Questions which result in short stories, potential novels, and role-playing adventurers.

I write to keep my mind quiet.

And maybe make some cash.

2 thoughts on “Why I Write – Michael S. Webster

  1. meaganmthornton April 18, 2015 / 8:55 pm

    I’ve never thought of why I write from that perspective before, probably because the demons I have are tough to exorcise through writing. I could try, but I’m also not even sure if it would help in the first place.
    ~Alexander Lewandowski

    Like

    • meaganmthornton April 19, 2015 / 7:35 am

      To be honest, it doesn’t truly exorcise them, but it helps to keep the beggars quiet for a bit. – MSW

      Like

Leave a Reply

