Noah Bailey – “Why I Write”

I write because I have always loved telling stories. I think that is really what it all boils down to. I never really have to force myself to write, either. And that’s because writing is something I genuinely enjoy doing. Writers make dreams real. And I have always been a dreamer. When I was young, I knew I wanted to write and tell stories. For me it was always just a matter of what medium I would ultimately start doing that in and stick with. I was very interested in writing films when I was a kid and I’ve carried that torch three years into college, working on a film degree with two semesters of advanced screenwriting courses already under my belt. But despite that, I think my true medium as an artist or writer, is creating music and lyrics. The best and most free flowing work I’ve ever done has been as a lyricist. However, leading back to the main point of why it is I write, I honestly believe that I do so because I just don’t know how to stop writing. I have an innate need and desire to create stories, really it can’t be explained. This is just what I love doing. I live for the ghost stories around the campfire and that has become my muse as an adult. At this point, I really doubt that there will ever come a time in my life where I stop writing. It’s too much a part of who I am now.

Leave a Reply

